Jennifer Egan, Sherman Alexie win Carnegie medals

NEW YORK — Jennifer Egan and Sherman Alexie are the 2018 winners of the Carnegie Medal for literary excellence.

Egan won the fiction prize for "Manhattan Beach," her novel set in New York City in the mid-20th century. Alexie won in nonfiction for "You Don't Have to Say You Love Me: A Memoir." The American Library Association announced the selections Sunday night during its annual midwinter meeting, held this year in Denver.

The Carnegie medals were established in 2012. Previous winners include Colson Whitehead, Donna Tartt and Doris Kearns Goodwin.

Related News

2 Fox News execs named co-presidents, will report to Murdoch

Aug 12, 2016

Rupert Murdoch moves to set up a new management structure at Fox News following Roger Ailes' departure amid sexual harassment allegations

Is NBC's prime-time Olympics due for a change?

Aug 12, 2016

For all the changes media and even Olympics coverage, NBC sticks to a time-honored formula for its prime-time broadcast

After storm halts tribute, A-Rod doubles in Yanks' finale

Aug 13, 2016

His pregame tribute ended by a storm, Alex Rodriguez began his final game with the New York Yankees by hitting a tying first-inning double

Hollywood in five is your 5 minutes read of Hollywood news with continual updated coverage.

Contact us: