Lauren Groff's 'Florida' wins $20,000 Story Prize

NEW YORK — Lauren Groff's "Florida," a collection of often tumultuous portraits of life in the Sunshine State, has won the $20,000 Story Prize for short fiction.

Prize organizers announced Wednesday night that Groff's book had been selected over Jamel Brinkley's "A Lucky Man" and Deborah Eisenberg's "Your Duck Is My Duck." Judges praised Groff's book as an "immersive experience" into the "beauty and awfulness" of Florida. Other fans of "Florida" include former President Barack Obama, who has listed it among his favorites of 2018.

Brinkley and Eisenberg each received $5,000.

The Story Prize was started in 2004, with George Saunders, Edwidge Danticat and Anthony Doerr among previous winners. Groff's other books include the story collection "Delicate Edible Birds" and the novel "Fates and Furies," a finalist for the National Book Award.

Related News

2 Fox News execs named co-presidents, will report to Murdoch

Aug 12, 2016

Rupert Murdoch moves to set up a new management structure at Fox News following Roger Ailes' departure amid sexual harassment allegations

Is NBC's prime-time Olympics due for a change?

Aug 12, 2016

For all the changes media and even Olympics coverage, NBC sticks to a time-honored formula for its prime-time broadcast

After storm halts tribute, A-Rod doubles in Yanks' finale

Aug 13, 2016

His pregame tribute ended by a storm, Alex Rodriguez began his final game with the New York Yankees by hitting a tying first-inning double

Hollywood in five is your 5 minutes read of Hollywood news with continual updated coverage.

Contact us: